top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejennamedsci

RBC Future Launch Scholarship

INTRODUCING JENNA THORNBER

As a young professional, learner, adventurer and impacter I am reaching out to RBC to support my education journey in the Master of Education in Sustainability, Creativity and Innovation. I joined this program after completing an undergraduate degree in Outdoor Adventure Leadership and gaining 4 years of professional working experience at a higher education institution in the field of campus and community outreach. As an advocate for environmental sustainability and community development I realized the urgency to change our education system to be more sustainability oriented and to contribute to society by working in the field of environmental sustainability. Our planet is undergoing rapid change with the climate crisis and industries, schools, and individuals need to adapt and change. I am entering my last semesters of the program and I feel I have gained lots of knowledge on how to inspire and create change. This scholarship would support the completion of my studies and start my career path with this new education degree under my belt. I am so passionate about this work and have invested lots of time and money trying to achieve this goal.


To learn about the program I am enrolled in click here


The Master of Education in Sustainability, Creativity, and Innovation will qualify me to teach part-time in the field of sustainability education and will set me apart from other candidates for jobs in the field of energy and sustainability. My career goals will be focused around higher education and teaching part-time. I aspire to work in a sustainability office at an institution, teach university or college courses part-time and join local community organizations and boards to share my knowledge and inspire innovative ideas for growth and development with sustainability at the forefront.



Currently, I am involved in many environmental and community groups and projects including;

- Co-chair of Laurentian University's Environmental Sustainability Committee.

- Secretary of the board of directors for the Greater Sudbury Farmers Market.

- Member of Regeneration Canada; a national non-profit committed to regenerative agriculture as a solution for climate change.

- Volunteer guide and coordinator for Health Promotion Without Borders program. A university experiential learning program devoted to international service learning and community engagement.

- Core supporter of a new documentary "Coextinction" that educates on the interconnectedness of ecosystems and the extinction crisis of the Southern Resident Killer Whales and Salmon on the West Coast of Canada.


I am happy to discuss this further or answer any questions. I have lots of goals and aspirations to create a sustainable future.





1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page