top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejennamedsci

Health Promoting Schools- University and Colleges

Updated: Oct 16, 2019

An overview of Laurentian University adopting the Okanagan charter.


I work on campus at Laurentian University, and just this summer, I found out that my campus adopted the Okanagan Charter. Without knowing much other then the Charter relates to health promotion, I decided to learn more. Seeing nice photos of our University President signing this "Charter" I definitely thought it was pretty legitimate and was curious what the University had in store for improving health and wellness on campus. Was their criteria to meet? Was research being done? Did the University have to send reports to the "Okanagan Charter" representatives? Through my research I found out that the Okanagan Charter is a framework and guide for Universities to follow as they work toward implementing new initiatives on campus, no reporting or research required. The Charter has two Calls to Action for higher education institutions: 1. Embed health into all aspects of campus culture, across the administration, operations and academic mandates. 2. Lead health promotion action and collaboration locally and globally.Speaking to fellow colleagues at the University, I learned that adopting the Okanagan Charter was only 1 of 16 recommendations that was put together in a report to the President on improving health and wellness on campus. This was a great surprise, and the University has a full streamlined report on what the University will be working toward over the next 5 years. Some of the recommendations include wellness days, a wellness hub on campus, well-derness camps, wellness certificates and various student services and support programs.


Below is a quick snap shot of LU and the Okanagan Charter.



Insider Thoughts:

These recommendations were brought together by the Campus Wellness Advisory Group and one of the members of this group is Michelle Laurence, a lab technician within the School of Human Kinetics. When chatting with her about the recommendations and the Okanagan Charter and it's effectiveness she mentioned that often improving health and wellness at the University level doesn't include academic implementation. She eluded to the fact that the way we are providing our education is not promoting health. She explained that students become unhealthy when they are overwhelmed with projects, assignments and tests and that this is an issue that needs to be addressed before some of the other recommendations.


Conclusion:

I am happy I did some research into the Okanagan Charter and got a better understanding of what it is and it's purpose for academic institutions. I realized that it is merely a guideline and framework, and that the responsibility lies on the individual institution. I was excited to see the report with 16 recommendations from my University with a designated team created to ensure it's success. I have already heard the buzz around a few of the recommendations and hope to see them come to fruition. I enjoyed my conversation with Michelle Laurence and agree that perhaps a bigger issue to address is the fact that many students at the post-secondary institutions are stressed and unhealthy due to academic workload, relationships with professors etc and that should be just as prioritized as other recommendations.


I look forward to learning more about health promoting schools and joining the movement at my campus.


Resources:







27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page